top of page

Town Clerk

chelsey picture.jpg

Town Clerk/Tax Collector:

 

Chelsey Woodworth
585.658.2730
585.658.3021 fax

Town Clerk Hours

Monday-Thursday: 8am-4pm

Friday: By Appointment Only

Deputy Town Clerk:

Trish Hill

Notary Hours

Monday: 8:30am - 4pm 

Wednesday: 8:30am - 4pm

Tax Information

View and/or pay tax bills online here: Tax Bill Lookup (link)

‍View the tentative and final tax rolls here: Livingston County Real Property (link)


View current amounts due and/or paid here: Livingston County Treasurer (link)

Marriage Licenses

View information on getting married in NYS: Getting Married in NYS (PDF)

FAQs

  • What do I need to do to get a marriage license?

    • A couple who intends to be married in New York State must apply in person for a marriage license to any town or city clerk in the state. Applicants need:

      • Proof of Age - one of the following:

        • Original birth certificate with a raised seal or certified copy

        • Baptismal Record

        • Naturalization Record

        • Census Record

      • Proof of Identity - one of the following:

        • Driver's License

        • Passport

        • Employment Picture ID

        • Immigration Record

      • $40 fee (cash or check)

    • Information regarding previous marriages must be furnished in the application for a marriage license. This includes whether the former spouse or spouses are living, and whether the applicants are divorced and, if so, when, where and against whom the divorce or divorces were granted. A certified copy of the Decree of Divorce or a Certificate of Dissolution of Marriage may be required by the clerk issuing the marriage license.

  • Is there a waiting period?

    • Yes. After purchasing a marriage license, the couple must wait 24 hours before getting married. After the 24 hour waiting period, the license is valid for 60 days.

  • How much does the license cost?

    • The $40 fee for the license includes the issuance of a Certificate of Marriage Registration. This certificate is automatically sent by the issuing clerk to the applicants within 15 days after the completed license is returned by the officiant (person who performs the ceremony).

  • What are the age requirements?

    • In New York State, no parental consent is required for applicants who are 18 years of age or older. For applicants under the age of 18, please contact the Town Clerk at 585-658-2730 for more information.

  • ‍What do I do about my last name?

    • Every person has the right to adopt any name by which he or she wishes to be known simply by using that name consistently and without intent to defraud.

    • A person's last name does not automatically change upon marriage, and neither party to the marriage is required to change his or her last name. One or both parties to a marriage may elect to change the last name by which he or she wishes to be known after the marriage by entering the new name in the appropriate space provided on the marriage license. The new name must consist of one of the following options:

      • The surname of the other spouse

      • Any former surname of either spouse

      • A name combining into a single surname all or a segment of the pre-marriage surname or any former surname of each spouse

      • A combination name separated by a hyphen, provided that each part of such combination surname is the pre-marriage surname, or any former surname, of each of the spouses.

    • Whether you decide to use or not to use this option at the time of your marriage license application, you still have the right to adopt a different name through usage at some future date. However, your marriage license cannot be changed to record a surname you decide to use after your marriage.

  • Do I need to notify Social Security?

    • If you elect to change your name, you must notify Social Security to have your name changed in their records. There is no charge for this service.

  • How do I get a copy of my marriage record?

    • A certified copy of the marriage record may be obtained from the office of the Town or City Clerk who issued the license (fee $10), or from the New York State Department of Health (fee $30).

    • To request a copy of a marriage certificate from Town Clerk in person, you must:

    • Please note that because of the personal information contained on the marriage certificate, the Town Clerk will not give a copy of a marriage license to anyone except the bride or groom. Marriage licenses copies cannot be picked up by or mailed to children, parents, or friends of the bride and groom.

    • For more information, please visit: NYS Department of Health (link) 
       

Birth Records

 

FAQs

  • ‍Who is eligible to obtain a copy of a birth certificate?

    • The person named on the birth certificate

    • A parent of the person named on the birth certificate (requesting parent's name must be on the birth certificate)

    • Only by order of a New York State Court may a spouse, child or other persons obtain a copy of a birth certificate

  • Where can I get a copy of my birth certificate?

    • Copies of birth records are available from the Registrar of Vital Statistics for the town or city in which the child was born, or from the Vital Records Section of the New York State Department of Health. Please note that it does not matter where the parents lived at the time of the birth of the child. Births are registered in the city or town where the birth took place. In Mount Morris, the Registrar of Vital Statistics is the Town Clerk.

  • ‍How much does it cost to obtain a copy of my birth certificate?

    • The fee for obtaining a copy of the birth record from the Town Clerk is $10 and the Vital Records Section of the New York State Department of Health charges $30.

  • ‍How do I request a copy of my birth certificate?

    • Eligible people may request a copy of a birth certificate from the Town Clerk in person as follows:

Death Records

FAQs

  • ‍Who is eligible to obtain a copy of a death certificate?

    • A person with a NYS Court Order issued showing a necessity

    • The CURRENT spouse, parent or child of the deceased or their lawful representative

    • A person requiring the record for a documented legal right or claim

    • A person with a documented medical need

    • A government agency for official purposes

    • Please note that an attorney may only obtain a copy of a death certificate if they are representing someone authorized to get a copy.

  • Where can I get a copy of a death certificate?

    • Copies of death records are available from the Registrar of Vital Statistics for the town, village or city in which the death occurred, or from the Vital Records Section of the New York State Department of Health. Please note that it does not matter where the deceased lived at the time of death. Deaths are registered in the city, village or town where the death occurred. 

  • ‍How much does it cost to obtain a copy of a death certificate?

    • The fee for obtaining a copy of the death certificate from the Town Clerk is $10 and the Vital Records Section of the New York State Department of Health charges $30.

  • ‍How do I request a copy of a death certificate?

    • ​​Eligible people may request a copy of a death certificate from the Town Clerk in person as follows:

Genealogical Records


FAQs

  • What records are available?

    • Information from records of birth or death may be provided for genealogical research purposes subject to the provisions of Section 35.5 of the Health Commissioner's Rules and Regulations. Each uncertified copy must include the statement "For Genealogical Purposes Only".

    • Information may be released for genealogy research subject to the following requirements:

      • Birth records - must be on file for at least 75 years and the person to whom the records relates is known to the applicant to be deceased.

      • Death records - must be on file for at least 50 years. The Town of Mount Morris death records begin 1881.

      • Marriage records - must be on file for at least 50 years and both parties to the marriage are known to the applicant to be deceased.

    • The time periods specified for birth and death records may be waived if the applicant is a descendant or has been designated to act on behalf of a descendant of the person whose record is being requested. A descendant is a person in the direct line of descent such as a son, daughter, grandson, granddaughter, etc. The local registrar must require proof that the requestor is a direct line ancestor when a waiver of the waiting period is required.

  • What is the cost?

    • The fee schedule is per each name of type of record requested. Fees vary depending on requested number of years to be searched. The fee for genealogy copies is $22.00 for a 1-3 year search; $42 for a 7-10 year search; $62 for an 11-20 year search; $82 for a 21-30 year search; etc.

  • How do I request a record?

  • I want to do genealogical research. Why can't I just look through the old records myself? After all, there is no confidential information in the old records.

    • These records are permanent records and must be protected from excessive handling in order to help preserve them. Moisture and acids present on everyone's skin will deteriorate the paper and ink.
       

Accessible Parking Permits

 

Accessible parking permits for residents are available at no charge from the Town Clerk's office. In order to apply for a permit, you and your doctor must complete an Application for a Parking Permit for Persons With Severe Disabilities.

For an application click here: Application for Handicap Parking Permit  (PDF)

‍You must also bring the driver's license of the person to whom the permit was issued, unless that person does not have a driver's license.

 

Upon receipt of the application, the Town Clerk will issue a Temporary or Permanent Parking Permit. A Temporary Parking Permit can be issued for up to 6 months, at the discretion of the doctor. A Permanent Parking Permit is issued for a five year period. At the end of five years, the parking permit may be renewed at the Town Clerk's office, provided the permit holder still resides in the Town of Mount Morris.

 

Important information:

  • The Accessible Parking Permit is issued to the person with the disability, not to the vehicle. Persons other than to whom the permit is issued may not use the permit unless they are transporting the person to whom the permit is issued.

  • Accessible Parking Permits should not be left on the rear view mirror when driving.

  • Lost or stolen permits should be reported to the issuing agent immediately.

  • Permits are issued by the municipality in which you reside. 

  • For additional information please visit the NYS DMV website at www.dmv.ny.gov/forms/mv6641.pdf
     

Dog Licensing

 

It is the law in the Town and Village of Mount Morris that all dogs must be licensed at the Town Clerks Office once they are 4 months old. Below is the Local Code on Dog Licensing in the Town of Mount Morris. 

§ 14-6. Licensing of dogs; fees. 
A. License required. All dogs in the Town shall be licensed with the Town Clerk by the age of four months, and any person applying for a dog license shall present a current certificate of rabies vaccination at the time of making application for a license or for the renewal of an existing license. 
B. Expiration of license. All dog licenses shall be valid for a period of one year and shall expire at the end of the month, one year from the date of issuance.
C. License fees. The fee for a spayed or neutered dog will be determined by the Town by resolution from time to time. The fee for an un-spayed or unneutered dog will be determined by the Town by resolution from time to time; such fee shall be at least $5 more than the fee for a spayed or neutered dog. The fee for a replacement dog identification tag will be determined by the Town by resolution from time to time.
D. Each individual dog license for a spayed or neutered dog shall be subject to an animal population control surcharge in the amount as mandated by New York State as must be paid at the time the dog license application is filed. Each individual dog license for an un-spayed or unneutered dog shall be subject to an animal population control surcharge in the amount as mandated by New York State as must be paid at the time the dog license application is filed. Such surcharges shall be in addition to the fees set forth in Subsection C hereof. 
E. Enumeration fee. When the Town Board determines the need for a dog enumeration, a fee as determined by the Town by resolution from time to time will be assessed to the owner of any dog found unlicensed or for which the license has not been renewed at the time the enumeration is conducted. 
F. Service dogs. The Town shall require a license for any guide dog, service dog, hearing dog or detection dog; however, the license fee will be waived for such dogs as those terms are defined by Article 7 of the Agriculture and Markets Law. Each copy of any license for such dogs shall be conspicuously marked "Guide Dog," or "Service Dog," as may be appropriate, by the Clerk. 
G. Shelters. The Town does not allow the licensing of dogs by a shelter. The shelter shall send all dog owners to the clerk of the town or city in which the dog will be harbored for licensing. H. All dog licenses shall be purchased in person at the Town Clerk's office or by regular mail. If licensing or renewing a license by mail, the appropriate fee shall accompany the forms. There shall be no refund of fees. I. All fees shall be used to fund the administration of the Dog Control Law of the Town.

Tax Informaton
Marriage Licenses
Birth Records
Death Records
Genealogical Records
Accessible Parking Permits
Dog Licensing
Freedom of Information Law

Freedom of Information Law (FOIL)

 

The Freedom on Information Law (Public Officers Law Article 6) is New York State's principal statute on providing for public access to the records of government.

If you wish to make a FOIL request, you must make your request in writing. Please be as specific as possible in description the records in which you are interested. Within 5 business days of the receipt of your request, we will send a written acknowledgment that we have received your request.

 

Certain records or portions of records are excepted from disclosure under authority of Public Officers Law Section 87.2(a-1). Should your request be denied, you will be notified in writing stating the reason for the denial and advising your right to an appeal. For more information on FOIL law, you may visit the New York State Office of General Services website at: www.ogs.ny.gov.

Requesting and Obtaining Records:

  • The Governor recently approved legislation (Chapter 182) to amend the Freedom of Information Law that requires the Committee on Open Government "to develop a form, which shall be made available on the Internet, that may be used b the public to request a record." The new law further requires as follows: "All entities shall, provided such entity has reasonable means available, accept requests for records submitted in the form of electronic mail and shall respond to such requests by electronic mail, using forms, to the extent practicable, consistent with the form or forms developed by the Committee on Open Government pursuant to subdivision one of this section and provided that the written requests do not seek a response in some other form."

  • The form for requesting records is available here: Freedom of Information Law (FOIL)

bottom of page